Creative Writing Journal January 24, 2012

Today, I step out on a journey of discovery, determining those things that support my creative writing. I’ve some ideas about where to begin, what to continue and what to get rid of. When writing for academic assignments, I tend to spend a lot of time in the “research” phase. But really, I think that’s my particular excuse to prolong the start of my writing. Again and again, I find myself setting a date to begin the first draft, only to convince myself that I need to read just one more source. What is it about starting the first draft that renders me useless and incompetent? I rob myself of valuable revision opportunities and the rejuvenating effects of a good night’s sleep. It’s imperative that one of my objectives during my discovery journey is to create habits that will encourage me to lay down the first words earlier in the process.

Here’s my plan:

1) create appointments in my calendar dedicated to stream-of-consciousness writing

2) commit to the stream-of-consciousness writing technique and allow myself permission to put thoughts to paper before I’ve completely organized them in my head

3) explore and discover locations that encourage my writing, i.e., coffee shop, library, Student Dining Hall, a hide-away spot on campus, local park (when the weather warms a bit)

4) experiment with different music selections that foster my creativity, paying special attention to how varying genres influence my writing voice

5) evaluate the usefulness of my AlfaSmart word processing keyboard as an intentionally limited tool that will aid my stream-of-consciousness writing without the distractions of: 1) the Internet, and 2) the ability to view and edit a full page of text

6) post the progress, here, in my Creative Writing Journal on a regular basis

To all the folks who wish to support me in this endeavor… channel your good energy my way.

~ by lookATLANTA on January 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
